Election 2017: Rushcliffe Results

The Conservative Party is now the largest group at Nottinghamshire County Council following elections held on Thursday 4 May 2017, winning 31 of 66 seats.

This is short of the 34 seats required for a majority, so the County Council remains in no overall control.

The overall detailed results and those for all individual divisions are available to view at www.nottinghamshire.gov.uk/electionresults/2017

banner ad

The new composition of the County Council is (change from number of seats prior to the election):

  • Conservative – 31 seats (+10)
  • Labour – 23 seats (-9)
  • Ashfield Independents – 5 seats (+1)
  • Mansfield Independent Forum – 4 seats (+2)
  • Liberal Democrat  – 1 seat (-4)
  • Selston Area Independents – 1 seat (no change)
  • Independent – 1 seat (-2)

The total number of County Council seats has reduced from 67 to 66, following a boundary review by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The review has meant that most of the 56 divisions have changed in name, size or both.

READ MORE:  30-minute festive music and lights show announced for Nottingham Christmas lights switch-on

The countywide turnout was 36.47%, an increase of 3% on the 2013 County Council election. The largest turnout was in the Southwell division (48.9%) and the lowest was in Worksop East division (26.4%).

All the newly elected and re-elected councillors will officially assume office on Monday 8 May.

The first meeting of the new County Council, the Annual General Meeting (AGM), will take place on 25 May 2017. The election of a County Council Chairman, Committee Chairs and the membership of committees will be set at the AGM.