11.9 C
West Bridgford
Thursday, 24 September 2020

Election 2019: A profile of Sherwood parliamentary constituency


WBWire covid19 728x90 1

In one of the most demographically-diverse seats in the county, this constituency has a majority of just over 5,000 votes.

It’s currently held by Mark Spencer, who was made chief whip by Boris Johnson – essentially the Government’s head of enforcement in the House of Commons.

Labour was comfortably in second place here in 2017, with the two parties together winning more than 92 per cent of the vote.

banner ad

With the Brexit Party not standing here, it looks as though it could be a straight red versus blue race here this time around.

Labour’s Jerry Hague has been in place for several months and has been gradually building his campaign.


It’s difficult to know exactly what percentage of Sherwood vote to leave in the referendum.

That’s because the vote was counted by local authorities, not by constituency, and Sherwood is made up of Newark and Sherwood, Gedling and Ashfield councils.

But given that all three of those council areas voted to leave, it seems safe to assume that Sherwood probably voted to Leave.

It has been estimated that about 63 per cent of the constituency voted to Leave.

It’s a very diverse constituency in terms of demographics, ranging from former mining town Hucknall to large village Calverton and huge coal mining fields in largely rural areas.


Timothy Simon BALL, Liberal Democrats

Esther Ruth CROPPER, Green Party

Jerry HAGUE, Labour Party

Simon Louis ROOD, Independent

Mark Steven SPENCER, Conservative Party

Subscribe to our free daily newsletter

ALL stories from The Wire delivered in ONE email every day