Goble set for Nottingham Rugby debut at Richmond

Nottingham Rugby will be looking to continue their chase for a British & Irish Cup quarter final place, as they travel to face Richmond, in Round 4 of the cross-border competition, at the Richmond Athletic Ground, on Saturday (3pm kick-off).

The Green and Whites will be heading into the game in high spirits, after their 43-3, Round 3 victory over the Londoners, at The Bay, last weekend, and will be further boosted by the inclusion of debutant, Nottingham Trent University student Alex Goble.

The 20 year-old winger was initially named on the bench for last weekend’s first match of the cup double-header, but had to be replaced by Will Sutton 24 hours before kick-off.

banner ad

Goble now gets his first opportunity in a Green and White jersey, starting the game on the left wing, with fellow NTU student David Williams returning to the side, on the right.

READ NEXT:  Last chance to see Nottingham Vikings exhibition


Centre Joe Cobden makes his second appearance of the season, after scoring the opening try of the game last Sunday, whilst captain Matt Everard also features in the back row, after being rested for the previous fixture.

Other returnees, to what is a very strong starting XV, include Billy Robinson, Vili Hakalo, Murray McConnell, Kieran Davies, Ben Hooper, Tom Holmes, Ben Morris and Shane Buckley.

Nottingham currently sit in second place in Pool 4, level on points with both Leinster ‘A’ and Scarlets Premiership Select, with all three sides having won two games and lost one.

The Green and Whites have faced Richmond twice already this season. Prior to last weekend’s win, Nottingham triumphed by a 20-8 scoreline, in the league clash between the two sides, at The Bay, back in October. Tries from James Stephenson, Ben Brownlie and Murray McConnell helped Ian Costello’s men to victory.

READ NEXT:  £300,000 boost for potential future development site in West Bridgford

Team to face Richmond:
15) Billy Robinson
14) David Williams
13) Joe Cobden
12) Vili Hakalo
11) Alex Goble
10) Lawrence Rayner
9) Murray McConnell
1) Kieran Davies
2) Jimmy Stevens
3) Ben Hooper
4) Tom Holmes
5) Morgan Eames
6) Ben Morris
7) Matt Everard (C)
8) Shane Buckley

16) Ben Brownlie
17) Tom West
18) Tom Heard
19) Josh Poullet
20) Rob Langley
21) Jacob Nash
22) Calum Hall