Wednesday 22 May 2024
13 C

Local Elections 2023: Newark list of candidates and polling stations for 4 May vote

A full list of candidates for the Newark and Sherwood District Council local elections has been published.

The authority has 39 seats and is currently run by the Conservative Party, with Cllr David Lloyd as the leader.

A total of 29 seats are currently held by the Conservatives, seven by Labour, two are Liberal Democrats and one is Independent.

The whole-council elections will take place next month on May 4, to elect members for the next four years.

The counting of the votes for the elections will take place at Newark Sports and Fitness Centre from 10 am on Friday 5 May 2023.

- Advertisement -

Newark and Sherwood District Council have 21 wards and 95 candidates have been nominated to contest the election for 2023.

A total of 37 candidates are Conservatives, 23 representing the Labour Party, 17 candidates are Independents, five are Green Party, 10 are Liberal Democrats, one is from the Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition and one is from Reform UK.

Below is a list of all candidates standing in each ward, listed in alphabetical surname order.

Use the tool to find your polling station

The bracket is the number of council seats being elected.

Balderton North & Coddington (2)

Klaus Becher, Liberal Democrats

Betty Margaret Brooks, Local Conservatives

Johno Lee, Local Conservatives

Emma Louise Oldham, Independent

Lucy Olivia Spoors, Labour Party

Balderton South (2)

Simon Nicholas Forde, Independent

Jean Hazel Hall, Independent

Lydia Hazel Hurst, Local Conservatives

Ronnie White, Local Conservatives

Beacon (3)

Rowan Sally Cozens, Independent

Susan Crosby, Independent

Rita Crowe, Local Conservatives

David James Lloyd, Local Conservatives

David Michael Moore

Mathew James Skinner, Local Conservatives

Bilsthorpe (1)

Rhona Holloway, The Conservative Party

Matt Kerry, Labour Party

Boughton (1)

Marc Steele, Labour Party

Tim Wildgust, The Conservative Party

Bridge (2)

Irene Brown, Independent

Deb’s Darby, Independent

Mick Darby, Independent

Lisa June Geary, Labour Party

Robert Guy Michael Palmer, Reform UK

Andrew Christopher Rainbow, Local Conservatives

Tony Roberts, Local Conservatives

Castle (1)

Adrian Charles Amer, Independent

Glenn William Barker, Labour Party

Jenni Oliver, Local Conservatives

Collingham (2)

Phil Barron, Liberal Democrats

Linda Elaine Dales, Local Conservatives

Phil Farmer, Local Conservatives

Martin James Lunn, Green Party

Marylyn Rayner, Liberal Democrats

Devon Ward (3)

Max Cope, Local Conservatives

Bob Crowe, Local Conservatives

Keith Frank Girling,  Local Conservatives

Neil Ross, Independent

Matthew Joseph Thomson Spoors, Labour Party

Paul Taylor, Labour Party

Dover Beck (1)

Roger James Jackson, Local Conservatives

Joseph Maurice Spoors, Labour Party

Edwinstowe & Clipstone Ward (1)

Nigel Jeremy Booth, The Conservative Party Candidate

Anne Celia Brooks, Labour Party

Scott Carlton, The Conservative Party Candidate

Andrew Freeman, Labour Party

Paul Stephen Peacock, Labour Party

Rebecca Spademan, The Conservative Party Candidate

Farndon & Fernwood (3)

Chris Adams, Liberal Democrats

Neil Allen, Local Conservatives

Ryan Thomas Cullen, Liberal Democrats

Tom Geraghty, Liberal Democrats

Simon Edward Haynes, Local Conservatives

Jack Logan Kellas, Local Conservatives

Declan Patrick Logue, Independent

Jane Elizabeth Olson, Labour Party

Farnsfield (1)

Robert Bruce Laughton, The Conservative Party

Maurice Arthur Shakeshaft, Labour Party

Lowdham (1)

Kevin Treverton Scoles, Labour Party

Tim Wendels, Local Conservatives

Muskham (1)

Jude Andrews, Green Party

Adrian James Loftus, Labour Party

Sue Saddington, Local Conservatives

Ollerton (3)

Alice Brazier, Labour Party

Lee Robert Brazier, Labour Party

Kelly Fordham, The Conservative Party Candidate

Mike Pringle, Labour Party

Rainworth North & Rufford (2)

Kirsty Denman, Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition

Lois Kirsten Fisher, The Conservative Party Candidate

Sheila Greatrex-White, Green Party

Petra Harvey-Barker, The Conservative Party Candidate

Claire Penny, Labour Party

Linda Mary Tift, Labour Party

Carrie Young, Independent

Rainworth South & Blidworth (2)

Martin Gary Atherton, Independent

Bill Bates, Labour Party

Gary Frazer Fisher, The Conservative Party Candidate

Edward Litchfield, Independent

Tom Smith, The Conservative Party Candidate

Tina Thompson, Independent

Callam Walsh, Labour Party

Southwell (3)

Jeremy Michael Berridge, Liberal Democrats

Jamie Oliver William Bostock, Labour Party

Jools Cosgrove, Independent

Peter Richard Harris, Liberal Democrats

Michael Jeffrey, Local Conservatives

Curtis Marshall, Local Conservatives

Steven Patrick Morris, Green Party

Penny Rainbow, Local Conservatives

Karen Roberts, Liberal Democrats

Sutton-on-Trent (1)

Roger John Bell, Independent

Sylvia Mary Michael, Local Conservatives

Trent (1)

Eric Bignell, Green Party

Keith Myers Melton, Liberal Democrats

Malcolm Yates, Local Conservatives

Follow The Wire on TikTok, Facebook, X, Instagram. Send your story to or via WhatsApp on 0115 772 0418