Nottingham Rugby take on Richmond for the fourth and final time this season, as they head to the Richmond Athletic Ground on Saturday (3pm kick-off), in search of their first Greene King IPA Championship win of 2017.

With just five regular season games now remaining for the Green & Whites, and with a play-off place still within reach, head coach Ian Costello has named a strong squad for the visit to South West London, as Nottingham focus on a winning finish to their 2016/17 campaign.

In the pack, hooker Jimmy Stevens, prop Tom Heard and lock Tom Holmes return to the starting line-up, after all three featured on the bench in last weekend’s home defeat against Doncaster. Captain Ben Morris also moves from the second row, back to his regular flanker role.

Planning a street party? The deadline for applications is soon
Murray McConnell
Murray McConnell
banner ad

Back in the #9 shirt, Murray McConnell is preferred to Darryl Veenendaal, whilst dual-reg Leicester Tiger fullback George Worth, makes his first appearance in a Green & White shirt since the end of October.

Two new 20 year-old props make an appearance amongst the replacements, with England Under-20 tighthead Will Stuart joining on a dual-reg deal from Wasps, whilst loosehead Owen Hills has been brought in from Leicester Tigers.

Nottingham have won two of the three meetings between the sides so far this season, securing a 20-8 league victory at The Bay back in October, thanks to tries from James Stephenson, Ben Brownlie and Murray McConnell.

This was followed by a convincing 43-3 B&I Cup home win in December, helped along by tries from Joe Cobden, Jimmy Stevens, Shane Buckley, Conor Bullivant, Calum Hall and Morgan Eames.

Notts council chairman's engagements this week

The pre-Christmas return cup fixture saw Richmond secure victory with a 20-12 scoreline. First half scores from David Williams and McConnell couldn’t prevent Nottingham from returning home empty-handed.

Team to face Richmond:
15) George Worth
14) Calum Hall
13) Oli Evans
12) Charlie Thacker
11) Joe Cobden
10) Gearoid Lyons
9) Murray McConnell
1) Kieran Davies
2) Jimmy Stevens
3) Tom Heard
4) Tom Holmes
5) Morgan Eames
6) Ben Morris (C)
7) Jordan Coghlan
8) Shane Buckley

16) TJ Harris
17) Owen Hills
18) Will Stuart
19) Josh Poullet
20) Matt Everard
21) Darryl Veenendaal
22) Tiff Eden