Nottingham Rugby: Strong side named for cup clash In Cork

Nottingham Rugby Head Coach Ian Costello has named a vastly changed starting line-up, for Friday night’s British & Irish Cup visit to Irish Independent Park, Cork, to take on the current cup holders Munster ‘A’ (7:45pm kick-off).


A total of eleven changes have been made from the side that were defeated by Bedford Blues, at The Bay, last Sunday, as Costello plots to upset the side he previously coached to the B&I title, back in 2012.

banner ad


Hooker Jimmy Stevens is the only player to retain his place in the pack, as Tom West, Rory Burke, Tom Holmes, Danny Qualter, Ben Morris, Jordan Coghlan and Shane Buckley are all selected to start.

READ NEXT:  How to organise a street party for the Royal Wedding in May


Gearoid Lyons is shifted from fly half back to inside centre, as Tiff Eden returns to the #10 jersey, whilst Joe Cobden is moved to the wing, from outside centre, and Oli Evans, Billy Robinson and Sean Scanlon are all added to the back line.


There are four new additions to the replacements bench, as Ben Brownlie is brought in, and Tim Cardall, Josh Poullet and Vili Hakalo retain a place in the squad, after starting last weekend.


Five of Nottingham’s starting XV, will also be lining-up against their former club, as Rory Burke, Jordan Coghlan, Shane Buckley, Gearoid Lyons and Sean Scanlon return home to the PRO14 provincial giants, where they all began their professional careers.


The Green & Whites will be looking for their first victory over Munster, after being defeated on six previous occasions in the competition, between 2010 and 2014, with the closest they have come to a win being narrow 15-14 and 17-16 home defeats, in January 2011 and October 2013 respectively.

READ NEXT:  Gas leak on Melton Road West Bridgford - delays expected


Team to face Munster ‘A’:

15) Sean Scanlon

14) Billy Robinson

13) Oli Evans

12) Gearoid Lyons

11) Joe Cobden

10) Tiff Eden

9) Murray McConnell

1) Tom West

2) Jimmy Stevens

3) Rory Burke

4) Tom Holmes

5) Danny Qualter

6) Ben Morris (C)

7) Jordan Coghlan

8) Shane Buckley



16) Ben Brownlie

17) James Penman

18) Aniseko Sio

19) Tim Cardall

20) Josh Poullet

21) Darryl Veenendaal

22) Vili Hakalo