NUHonours ‘Hospital Heroes’ shortlist announced

More than 40 hospital heroes have today been named as finalists in the NUHonours Awards.

The annual awards ceremony recognises staff at Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust who have gone the extra mile.

banner ad

We asked staff, patients and the public to nominate the people who have made a real difference to their lives in the past 12 months and received almost 1,000 nominations.

These have now been whittled down to the finalists in 15 categories, ranging from Team of the Year to Volunteer of the Year.

Eric Morton, NUH Chairman, said: “We were inundated with stories of the compassion, care and dedication shown by members of ‘Team NUH’ and it was not an easy task for judges to choose their finalists.

“Very many congratulations to all of the shortlisted candidates, they should be very proud to have made it this far against some extremely tough competition.”

READ NEXT:  Nottingham Rugby announce partnership with local printers

The full list of finalists can be viewed here.

Winners will be announced at a ceremony at the East Midlands Conference Centre on 24 November.





Cancer & Associated Specialties Division Award – Sponsored by InHealth

Kirk Tooby

Jane Groves

Louis Menson-Evans


Clinical Support Division Award

Jane Hurworth & Jane Squire

Parminder Gill

Kamal Manek


Family Health Division Award

Debbie Raffel

Karen Kelliher

Christa Burgess


Medicine Division Award – Sponsored by NHS professionals

Adam Szafranek

Margaret Bowler

Michael Scott


Surgery Division Award – Sponsored by PKF Cooper Parry

April Johnston

Sam Bennett

Endoscopy MDT


Corporate Division Award

Sally Wood

Denise Buckley

Aneka Mehta


Estates and Facilities Award

The Emergency Department Cleaning Team

Kieran Wyer

Pete Travis, Jen Dennings and Lauren Pinney – B3 Food Assistance


Volunteer of the Year Award – Sponsored by Browne Jacobson

2017 Jimma Link Team

Pat Sands

Dorothy Lang & Shakri Sarin


Nottingham Hospitals Charity Fundraiser of the Year Award


READ NEXT:  £5.7 million theatre upgrade plans for Nottingham's QMC

Haematology Daycase

Hayward House


Research & Innovation of the Year Award – Sponsored by Nottingham Trent University

The Fibro Scan Team

Vicky Booth

Natalie McGregor


Team of the Year Award –Sponsored by Direct Healthcare Services

Renal Service

Paediatric Diabetes Team

Agnes Muruakuru, Hannah Mensah-Ameyaw, Chloe Ingram, Polly Skermer – Southwell Ward


Education and Learning Award

Danni-Louise Porter

Dialysis Unit Shared Care Team

Kaye Johnson & Laura Evans


Leader of the Year Award –Sponsored by Jigsaw24

Charlotte Madgwick

Leanne Marshall

Julie McCarthy

Michael McLean

Mark Lyons


Community Champion Award –Sponsored by J Tomlinson

The Harley Jae Trust

Forever Stars Charity


Nottingham Breast Cancer Support & Research Group


LifetimeAchievement Award –Sponsored by The League of Friends of the QMC

Dr C.O Boyle

Margaret Bowler

Pat San



The winners of this year’s NUHonours Awards will be announced on 24 November.