Pictures: Rushcliffe Sports Awards

Rushcliffe Sports Awards
Junior Sportsperson of the Year Rachel Heap was presented with the award by local triathlete star Sophie Coldwell

The Rushcliffe Sports Awards celebrated its 13th year last night (November 22) with a glittering showcase of achievements of the borough’s sports people.

Rushcliffe Borough Council, in partnership with the Rushcliffe School Sports Partnership, hosted the awards at The Becket School that saw highly deserving teams and individuals gain recognition for their local sporting talents.

banner ad

High profile local sports stars including Nottinghamshire County Cricket’s recently retired skipper Chris Read and Keyworth’s triumphant triathlete Sophie Coldwell gave question and answer sessions as part of the event and joined Nottingham Forest stars Joe Worrall and Tyler Walker to present awards to local heroes.

Rowing star Rachel Heap won the Junior Sportsperson of the Year. She and all six shortlisted nominees receive a membership where they can access Rushcliffe Borough Council leisure facilities free of charge as well as funding from the Rushcliffe Elite Sports Grant to support the cost of competing at International and National level.

READ NEXT:  Consultation launched for double-yellow lines on 11 West Bridgford roads
Club of the Year – Rushcliffe Athletics Club – presented by Notts CCC former skipper Chris Read

Club of the Year went to Rushcliffe Athletics Club whilst the Mayor of Rushcliffe Cllr Barrie Cooper enrolled retiring David Maddison of East Bridgford Primary School and Doug Hendry of Nottingham Corsairs Rugby Club into the Rushcliffe Roll of Honour.

The Deputy Leader of Rushcliffe Borough Council Cllr Debbie Mason paid tribute to all the winners and presented Chris Read with a Service to Performance and Leadership in Sport award.

Deputy Leader Cllr Debbie Mason presented Chris Read with a a Service to Performance and Leadership in Sport award
Deputy Leader Cllr Debbie Mason presented Chris Read with a a Service to Performance and Leadership in Sport award

She said: “It was a wonderful evening that truly highlighted the heartbeat of local sport stars and the people who support them to make them realise their potential.

“Congratulations to the winners but everyone who was nominated can class themselves as one.

“What shone through was the spirit, dedication and determination of the athletes and the invaluable contribution our voluntary coaches, officials and administrators make week in week out in Rushcliffe.”

READ NEXT:  Nottinghamshire mobile speed camera locations w/c 19 February

Nottingham Corsairs U10’s scooped the Junior Team of the Year and Rushcliffe Athletics Club’s Finlay Hood was named Junior Volunteer of the Year.

Rushcliffe Sports Awards
Junior Volunteer of the Year was Finlay Hood presented with his award by Nottingham Forest’s Joe Worrall and Tyler Walker

Coach of the Year was a family affair with brother and sister Ryan and Gemma Wilcock taking the plaudits for their work with swimming group Bingham Penguins.


Primary School Team of the Year was awarded to St Peter’s East Bridgford Primary School Boys Table Tennis Team and Secondary School Team of the Year went to Rushcliffe Under 16 Boys Football Team.

Coach of the Year – Gemma and Ryan Wilcock presented by Notts CCC director of cricket Mick Newell

The Dave Bullas School Games award went to Edwalton Primary School in the junior category and The West Bridgford School in the secondary section.

Rushcliffe Sports Awards
Rushcliffe School U16 Boys Football Team coach Mike Shaw presented with the award by Nottingham Rugby’s Ben Hooper and Sean Scanlon

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here