16.9 C
West Bridgford
Sunday, May 26, 2019

Sixty Nottinghamshire schools united against bullying


Sixty schools in Nottinghamshire have successfully completed the All Together United against Bullying programme – the largest number of schools nationally participating in the programme.

Primary, secondary and special schools took part in the two-year Department of Education funded initiative with 34 achieving the gold award, 23 silver, one bronze and a further two receiving a certificate.

banner ad

All the schools agreed that the programme had helped them to focus and improve their anti-bullying practice.

Councillor Philip Owen, chairman of the Children and Young People’s Committee, said: “In taking part in this programme, schools are displaying a real determination to stamp out bullying in their schools.

“It also sends a clear message to parents and carers that schools are tackling this issue and keeping pupils safe.”

The programme included a special focus on reducing bullying of disabled children and those with Special Educational Needs as well as peer-on-peer abuse.

Lorna Naylor, the county council’s anti-bullying co-ordinator and programme lead, said: “Children can abuse other children and this is generally referred to as peer-on-peer abuse.

“The bullying can take many forms including cyberbullying, sexual violence, sexual harassment, physical abuse such as hitting, kicking, biting and hair pulling and sexting.”

The Anti-bullying Alliance has announced that the programme will be extended for another eighteen months.

They will be taking on new schools by the end of the year and schools can sign up by visiting www.anti-bullyingalliance.org.uk/aba-our-work/our-programmes/all-together-whole-school-programme-schools

The gold awards winners were:

Berry Hill Primary School

Bilsthorpe Flying High Academy

Brinsley Primary and Nursery School

Carlton le Willows Academy

Croft Primary School

Forest Town Primary School

Hawthorne Primary and Nursery School

High Oakham Primary School

Holly Hill Primary and Nursery School

Holly Primary

Kingsway Primary School

Lake View Primary and Nursery School

Lovers’ Lane Primary School

Richard Bonington Primary

Rushcliffe School

Selston High School

St Joseph’s Catholic Primary School

St. Peter’s Cross Keys C of E Academy

Wynndale Primary School

Beech Academy

Dunham-on-Trent CofE Primary

Jesse Gray Primary School

John Hunt Primary School

Linby cum Papplewick C of E Primary School

Newark Orchard

The Minster School

Abbey Primary School

Arnold Hill Academy

Birklands Primary School

Chetwynd Primary Academy

Magnus C of E Academy

St Marys C of E Edwinstowe

Woodborough Wood’s Foundation School

Worksop Priory C of E Primary Academy


Get all the day's stories and events from The Wire delivered in ONE email every day

239SubscribersSign Up